Paths to Literacy

for students who are blind or visually impaired

Nominations for APH Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame logo

The American Printing House for the Blind (APH) announces that the 2017 Hall of Fame nomination process is open through March 31!

The Hall Board encourages you to nominate a hero, as well as to share this announcement widely.
"The Hall of Fame for Leaders and Legends of the Blindness Field is dedicated to preserving, honoring, and promoting the tradition of excellence manifested by the specific individuals inducted into the Hall of Fame and through the history of outstanding services provided to people who are blind or visually impaired."

Who should be the next inductees in to the Hall of Fame for the Blindness Field? 

If you are interested in learning more about the easy (electronic) process for submitting a nominee to join the 58 inductees, please visit:

What are the criteria?

Persons who have made significant contributions to improve the lives of those who are blind or visual impaired in such areas as professional practice, research, writing, leadership, direct service, and/or in their professional organizations.

What is Required to Nominate Someone?

Nominators must submit a comprehensive nomination packet including a thoroughly completed nomination form and three letters of support.

Who is Eligible?

  • Persons are eligible five years after departure/retirement from positions where their significant lifetime body of work was made.  
  • Individuals from North America are eligible for nomination. (North America is defined as US, Canada, Mexico, and the Caribbean).
2016 Inductees: Sir Frederick Fraser and Randall Jose -- To be inspired by their achievements, please visit their Hall biography pages.


Greg Goodrich, Chair, Hall of Fame Governing Board, 
Janie Blome, Curator, Hall of Fame,
The Voluntary Hall of Fame Governing Board 2017
Greg Goodrich (NJ), Chair
Frances Mary D’Andrea (PA)
Jim Deremeik (MD)
Marjorie Kaiser (SD)
BJ LeJeune (MS)
Gary Mudd (KY)
Rosanne Silberman (NY)
Ann Wadsworth (CAN)
George Zimmerman (PA)
Billy Brookshire (TX)
Bob Brasher (KY/AR), Ex Officio Member
Janie Blome (KY) Ex Officio Member and Curator