Paths to Literacy

for students who are blind or visually impaired

Aidan's Path to Braille: An Alternative Approach to Literacy

This webinar from Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired (TSBVI) will be held on April 1, 2020.

4:00-5:00 -- Eastern
3:00-4:00 -- Central
2:00-3:00 -- Mountain
1:00-2:00 -- Pacific

Sherry Airhart, a teacher of students with visual impairment in Frenship ISD, will share a unique approach she created to help a student with ONH who had struggled with braille literacy skills, despite several years of comprehensive instruction with traditional methods and materials. Her innovative approach demonstrates how thinking outside the box can help students along their path to braille, allowing them to not only develop important literacy skills, but also help them become more confident, active, and motivated participants in the world around them. This interactive webinar will include video and photos documenting the student's progress as well as the opportunity to dialogue with Sherri about her experience.

Registration and more information

Event Date: 

Apr 01, 2020

Timezone: 

CST