Paths to Literacy

for students who are blind or visually impaired

Braille FUNdamentals - A Braille Curriculum for VI Students from Primary to High School Levels

Logo for Braille FUNdamentals

BRAILLE FUNdamentals by Jeri Cleveland, Nancy Levack, Debra Sewell, Renée Toy © TSBVI (2002) is a comprehensive program for teaching the braille code. The sequence for introducing the braille configurations has been organized into 56 clusters of letters, numerals, contractions, short forms, punctuation and special signs, with specific clusters devoted to the reading and writing practice of previously learned contractions. Also included in this curriculum are a Pre-Braille Assessment, Braille Checklists and ideas for games.

This program can be used with beginning braille readers, as well as those readers who need to learn braille when they are older. In an effort to incorporate current best practices in teaching reading and writing, a wide variety of age-appropriate activities are included at each level. Instructional materials are found within each cluster, in order to provide an adequate amount of ready-made materials.

BRAILLE FUNdamentals is organized into four volumes:

  • Volume 1: Overview and Assessments
  • Volume 2: Clusters 1-16 (alphabet and whole word signs)
  • Volume 3: Clusters 17-37
  • Volume 4: Clusters 38-56

written at four levels:

  • Level 1 Primary, grades K-2
  • Level 2 Upper Elementary, grades 3, 4, 5
  • Level 3 Middle School, grades 6, 7, 8
  • Level 4 High School, grades 9, 10, 11, 12

with the following instructional components:

  • Review of 3 previous clusters
  • Introduction of new configurations
  • Discrimination of new configurations
  • Listening activities
  • Literature that includes the new configurations
  • Reading activities
  • Writing activities

BRAILLE FUNdamentals can be ordered as a complete set including all levels, or can be ordered in individual levels.

Posted on September 17, 2012
Updated on: December 20, 2018