What is the Expanded Core Curriculum?

Overview of the Expanded Core Curriculum (ECC) from TSBVI

This overview was developed by the Texas ECC Committee to explain the Expanded Core Curriculum in simple and concise terms.  The term expanded core curriculum (ECC) is used “to define concepts and skills that often require specialized instruction with students who are blind or visually impaired in order to compensate for decreased opportunities to learn incidentally by observing others. In addition to the general education core curriculum that all students are taught, students with visual impairments, starting at birth, also need instruction in the ECC.”

The document includes descriptions of the 9 areas of the ECC:

  1. Assistive Technology
  2. Career Education
  3. Compensatory Skills
  4. Independent Living Skills
  5. Orientation and Mobility (O & M)
  6. Recreation and Leisure
  7. Self-Determination
  8. Sensory Efficiency
  9. Social Interaction Skills

expanded core curriculum¿Cuál es el Currículum Central Expandido?


Leer en español:  ¿Cuál es el Currículum Central Expandido?

¿Cuál es el Currículum Central Expandido?

ECC collage