Skip to content
Resource

Free Online Program for Braille Readers in Middle and High School

Project INSPIRE is collaborating with the USDA Forest Service to offer WaterViz: STEAM Program: A Creative Approach to Understanding Water Cycle & Climate Data.

Project Inspire logo

The Project INSPIRE team is very excited to announce another fun learning activity for U.S. braille readers who are in middle and high school.

Project INSPIRE is collaborating with the USDA Forest Service to offer WaterViz: STEAM Program: A Creative Approach to Understanding Water Cycle & Climate Data!

This six session online program will begin on Saturday, October 14 from 11:30AM-1:00 PM Eastern / 10:30AM-Noon Central / 9:30AM-11:00AM Mountain / 8:30AM-10:00AM Pacific.

Program Activities:

  • Students will learn about how a team of artists, musicians, and scientists use animated digital art and musical sonification to represent real-time water cycle data from the Hubbard Brook Experimental Forest!
  • Students will have a chance to team up with students from around the country to analyze, interpret, and build 3-D scale models of real scientific data!
  • The students will have an opportunity to create their own data representation to present at the Water Showcase!
  • All students will receive a t-shirt and certificate of participation.

If you have a student who is a braille reader (or learning to read braille), we ask that you share the below flyer with them and their family. A parent/guardian will need to complete a brief registration form in order for their child to be considered for the program. The registration link is on the flyer and linked here.

Registration closes Tuesday, October 3. Project INSPIRE will notify students if they are or are not selected for the program by the end of the day on Friday, October 6.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE
Project Inspire logo
Resource

Fall 2023 Project INSPIRE Courses

Seedlings books for children with book logo
Blog

Check Out the Latest Books from Seedlings in Braille and Print

Cover of the BrailleBlazer book with hands on the book.
Blog

BrailleBlazer: Beginning Braille Reading Activity Book